Crafting and My Sanity

I just started a job after more than a year of being unemployed and unable to work. It’s a seasonal job so after four months I’ll be unemployed…again. I have to take as many hours as I can now to build up a nice cushion to live off of for the rest of the year. I want to be debt free by the end of this year.

But with all the hours in a day going to work, that leaves very little time to play with my supplies. I haven’t had the money until now to buy some more chainmaille and crafting supplies. But now I don’t have the time. When I come home from work, all I want to do is watch Netflix and fall asleep. I have no creative time.

I want to eventually start and run my business full time but right now I have to work up samples and build an inventory. I need to get a move on that. Besides that practical reason, I NEED to craft.

Crafting keep me sane this past year. I have never been unemployed for so long before. If I wasn’t working before, I would have had school to attend. I would have been kept busy. This past year I was in and out of hospitals and unable to work or even lift my arms. Luckily I didn’t need to lift my arms high to lift a pair of pliers or a crochet hook.

Crafting kept me focused and happy when I was depressed and my anxiety was high. I would craft and watch movies. It was a goal to work for when I didn’t have anything else to do. I even sold a few of my bracelets and earrings to help pay my monthly bills. (No matter how poor I was I was not going to give up my Netflix.)

Now I might not have the time but once I’ve adjusted to working again, I think I will. Without the job I wouldn’t be able to buy anything to make so there’s that.

How about you guys? Does crafting calm you down and keep you going? Or does it pump you up?

Leave a Reply

